“My Evolving Relationships to Social Media and Technology”


“Hey there, my digital comrades! Gather ’round, as I spill the beans on how I navigate the wild waters of social media and streaming platforms in this tech-tastic age.

First up, we’ve got Facebook. To me, it feels like a government kiosk stuffed to the brim with information about who you were, who you are now, and every embarrassing photo in between. It’s like a daily family, class reunion you never asked for!

Then comes Instagram, the ultimate front street. It’s where you flaunt your life’s highlight reel to the world, showcasing the best version of you in not just a photos & videos but in photo-stories and in reels lol. So many ways to say “I was here!”

Now, TikTok, my friends! It’s a place of wonder and amusement, a treasure trove of choreography, stitches, and conversations about everything from race and culture to sexism and…donut daddy? I’m still in the observation phase more than the participation phase here. It’s like trying to decipher a cryptic code!

Twitter, you say? Nah, never really my jam. I wanted to figure it out but still a riddle to me. Threads, though, was breath of fresh air in the social media circus for a hot minute. But let’s see how long that excitement lasts. I like how I can easily share post on my page from people I follow. It’s a great way to support and show love to those I follow and who follow me.

YouTube, feels like the new TV. It’s a bottomless pit of horrible commercials you can’t wait to unsee. However if I you have premium, then you can truly appreciate the all randomness and al the knowledge, from wildlife, to documentaries, to tarot readings, and don’t get me started on those folks teaching you how to make money online by posting videos about…making money online. It’s a wild ride, and I’m here for it!

Netflix, well, that’s my go-to for the event of the day or maybe a weekend binge. It’s like going to the movies, minus the overpriced popcorn. Netflix and chill, anyone?

Hulu, on the other hand, takes me back to the good ol’ days of television. It’s all about the content that puts me in that TV mood, whatever that means!

Apple TV, feels like a premium cable experience, reminiscent of what HBO used to be. I really Love The Morning Show.

As for radio I guess it is Spotify and Pandora that gives me that feeling of rediscovering the joy of the radio, with the added bonus of creating your own playlists. But Apple Music? It seems a tad overcomplicated for my taste. Still, it’s always there when Spotify decides to take a coffee break, and Siri becomes my DJ savior.

Now, here’s the kicker, folks. Despite all the amazing tech at our fingertips, the simple act of making a phone call has become as complicated as rocket science to me. No one can seem to hear me, I dial calls that don’t go through, despite living in one of the world lagest cities my calls drop like hotcakes and sometimes my butt dials random folks when my iPhone wasn’t even on. When it comes to specific information, I prefer text or an email. It’s all about those personalized touches!

So, here I am in 2023, Chioke Dmachi, sharing how I relate to this tech-tastic ever-evolving world of social media and communication technology. As Ai and AR matriculate into or Daily use and society, who knows what new updates and devices await us in the future? Until then, cheers to always learning new things and the never-ending adventure of life!” 📱🌐🚀


Leave a comment